Astrology symbols and their meanings 

Meta Description – Astrology being the study of planetary move movements and their influence on human lives is filled with many signs and symbols. This article will look at some of those symbols and the meanings behind them. 


This article is based on the different astrological symbols commonly referred to during an astrological reading and will help you understand the various astrological signs, symbols, and their meanings.

Astrological symbols and meanings for different moon phases

The New Moon

Represented by the symbol, “a full back moon”, the new moon according to Hindu traditions, is considered to be inauspicious, and religious ceremonies are not performed during the new moon.

The Full Moon

The full moon is represented by the symbol, “white full circle.” As per Hindu traditions, the full moon is considered an auspicious day to perform religious ceremonies and rituals.

The Crescent Moon

If you use an Astrology app to look for the symbol and meaning of the crescent moon you will find that it is represented by the symbol, “a crescent curve”. According to the waxing of and waning of the moon, in astrology, there is the increscent moon which is curved towards the right, and the decrescent moon, which is curved towards the left.

The Zodiac signs and symbols and the meanings assigned to them

If you ask astrologer, a professional astrologer will tell you that there are twelve zodiac signs. Each zodiac sign is represented by a particular and unique symbol reflected in your birth chart. Your zodiac sign, the planetary alignment, and transitions are the basis on which you have your horoscope readings. 

The Aries 

The Aries zodiac sign is represented by the symbol that is a “face and a pair of ram horns.” People with Aries as their Zodiac sign share similar features as that of a ram. Their personality traits are they tend to be aggressive, ambitious, bold, and social.

The Taurus 

The Taurus zodiac sign is represented by the symbol that is the bull. Like the bull, people born under this sign are strong and possess a lot of stamina. They are serene and calm beings, they like to be around pastoral surroundings and can be a little stubborn at times. 

The Gemini 

Represented by the symbol “a boy and a girl, the Gemini twins” is the Gemini zodiac. People born under this sign are busy bees, always looking for something to do. They are friendly beings, but also can be indecisive and materialistic.

The Cancer

The Cancer zodiac sign is represented by the symbol, “crab”. Cancerians are emotional and sensitive beings. They are creative, intuitive, and highly imaginative. On a bad day, they can be a bit touchy side and can be hurt easily. 

The Leo 

If you happen to be on an online astrology chat looking to find out more about the Leo sign, you will see that the Leo zodiac sign is represented by the symbol, “a lion’s head and a tail”.Their personality traits include leadership, ambition, and beings who love to be the centre of attraction. 

The Virgo

The Virgo zodiac sign is represented by the symbol closely resembling an “M”, which popularly refers to the ‘Maiden’ or the ‘Virgin’. Virgos are extremely organized and meticulous. Since they always strive for perfection a lot of the time, it leaves them in a problematic state.

The Libra 

The Libra zodiac sign is represented by the symbol, “Scales or claws of the Scorpio.” Like the scales, the Librans like harmony and balance. They are very pleasant but can be as indecisive as the Gemini.

The Scorpio

The Scorpio zodiac sign is represented by the symbol, “scorpion with a stinging tail.” A Scorpio is judicious and astute. At the same, they can also be envious and vengeful.

The Sagittarius 

Represented by the symbol, “a centaur with a bow and arrow,” people born under this sign are extroverts, who love going on adventures and progressive individuals. They are honest and outspoken, which can sometimes lead to them being impatient and blunt.

The Capricorn 

The Capricorn zodiac sign is represented by the symbol, “the head and body of a goat, with a tail of a fish”. People born under this sign do not mind hard work and are ambitious. They are also pragmatic and practical.

The Aquarius 

The Aquarius zodiac sign is represented by the symbol, “ripples of water.” Also referred to as ‘water bearers’, an Aquarian is assertive and creative by nature. They have an attractive nature and, at the same time, can be impulsive loners.

The Pisces

The Pisces zodiac is represented by the symbol, “two fishes swimming in opposite directions.” The two fishes represent their shy nature. And if you use an astrology app to find out more about the symbolism of the fishes swimming in opposite directions, you will see that it represents their split between reality and fantasy.


These are the general symbols, signs, and their meanings associated with astrology. For more detailed information on these signs and symbols and regarding astrology in general you can use the Astroyogi astrology app

Written by

Meet Master Henry, the prolific Australian author with a flair for capturing the essence of lifestyle, travel, and fashion in his captivating prose. Hailing from the land Down Under, Henry weaves vivid tales that transport readers to exotic destinations and infuse his writing with a touch of Aussie charm. With a keen eye for trends and an innate understanding of the finer things in life, Master Henry's work transcends conventional genres, offering a unique blend of sophistication and wanderlust.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *